When the King’s Away…

DH had business that took him to New York today, so the boys and I decided to go out to dinner.  We settled on a casual Mexican restaurant not far from our house, and I let Roo drive.

As we were waiting for the food to arrive, I was looking through my mail on my phone and came across  Limeisbetter‘s post about a group of girls swimming to the edge of Victoria Falls which I shared with the boys.  Buzzard and Roo agreed with me that it looked terrifying, Bugs thought it looked like fun.

Then the food came, and we ate (actually I ate, the boys inhaled).  It was on the way home when we turned into the neighborhood and I looked to the right to see the biggest orange setting sun I’ve ever seen.  And let’s just say, I got really excited about it.  Furthermore, let’s just say, the boys immediately began wailing about how nuts I’ve become about photography.

We were about a mile from the house, so I speeded up.  Then came the lectures from the teens in the car about speeding.  I slowed down, but that sun was sinking really fast.  I careened into the driveway, leaped out of the car as I shouted,  “Does anyone want to come with me?”

A chorus of “No’s!” rang out from behind me.

I ran in and grabbed my camera off the counter and ran back to the car only to find Bugs in the driver’s seat and Roo in the passengers seat with Buzzard standing outside the car.

“Did you change your mind?  Are you driving?”  I practically yell, then turn to Buzzard, “Are you staying?”  while I leap into the back seat.  Buzzard decides to follow.

Bugs backs out and I’m pestering him like a three year old, “Hurry!  Hurry!  Hurry!”

“Do you want me to drive safe?  Or fast?”  He says, an annoyingly wise look on his face that says he is not about to be rushed.

“Fast!”

“Good God woman!”  he declares, “You and your photos!  You are obsessed!”  (He really did say this, scouts honor!)

There is much laughing and joking the mile back up the road.  But when he gets to the end of the road to turn out of our development, I say, “Make a U-Eee here.”

“Here?”  he asks as he drives by the spot.

I shriek.  “What are you doing???”  You missed the turn?  YOU MISSED THE TURN!!!!!”  I’m bellowing now, and all three are looking at me like I’ve lost my mind, which I have.

“HOW COULD YOU MISS THE TURN!  I’M GOING TO MISS MY PHOTO!!!!!”

Bugs says, “Oh my gosh!  You are nuts!  Over a photo?  You want me to make an illegal U-turn over a photo?”  He proceeds down the road where he can take the next road around and come back.  By the time we stop, the sun has sunk too low to really get a picture.

I get in the car.  “We missed it!  It’s gone.”

Buzzard says to me in his most serious voice, “Luckily, this happens every 24 hours or so.”  I look at him and start laughing.

We get back home, and come inside and I’m contemplating making chocolate chip cookies when I notice Buzzard staring at his phone, Roo looking over his shoulder.  He looks up at me and holds it up.  Roo is starting to laugh pretty hard, and after a few seconds he says, “He videotaped the whole thing!”

“What?”  I ask.  “You mean the drive down to take the picture?”

“Yeah, and mom, you were going nuts!”  Buzzard holds the phone up so I can see.  I take the phone from him, and we all watch as the scene unfolds, with me screeching like a banshee for Bugs to hurry so I don’t miss the sunset, then the moment where he misses the illegal U-turn.  They are laughing so hard they can hardly stand.  So am I.

Then one of them says something about Youtube.  Youtube?  No, way… I hit the delete button–darn those phones, you have to hit delete twice to actually delete it.  They realized what I was doing and there was a scuffle for the phone with all four of us–8 hands snatching at the phone, with all of us laughing so hard–well, I don’t know about them, but I almost peed my pants I was laughing so hard.  We all fell on the floor still scrambling for Buzzard’s phone when it went sailing out of everyones grasp and skidded across the floor like a fumbled football.  Bugs was the first to get out of the tangle and snatch it up.

He ran like nobody’s business up the stairs and to his room where he locked the door, smart kid.  The three of us ran after him, me in the lead.  When I got to his door, I knocked and said, “Let me in.”

He did, and I locked the door behind me.  Turns out, I did get it deleted.  Whew!

When we came out Buzzard said, “You deleted it?  Aw man!  That was some good video–the way you went all crazy!”

“Yes, thank you for that,” I said rather dryly.  “Maybe you should think about a career as a movie producer.”  With that, we finished our evening with chocolate chip cookies that Roo helped me make while Buzzard made another video of us cooking.  I’m thinking I should stop worrying about him.  He’s going to be O.K.

This entry was posted in Brothers, cell phones, comedy, cooking, daily post, Family, fathers, Mom of Special Needs Kids, Mothers of Multiples, New Drivers, nostalgia, parenting, Post of the Day, postaday, Teen Drivers, Teens, teens driving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to When the King’s Away…

  1. That was the best post ever!!! It was like looking at my own life. My boys say the same thing when I get obsessed about getting a shot, and they shake their heads at me like I’ve totally lost my marbles. Thank you so much for making me realize that I’m not the only one who has kids that would wrestle me for the phone so that they could post my outbursts on youtube!!! LOL :)

    • Thanks! I’m still chuckling over Buzzard telling me “Luckily the sun sets every 24 hours,” Like, you big dummy, you can try again tomorrow! Boys are just so so funny! And you are right, they don’t really understand the photo thing. Must be on the xy chromosome. So glad to hear I’m not alone too! I had visions of other peoples kids saying things like, “Oh sure, anytime you need to take a photo, just let me know,” He he.

  2. sayvan says:

    Great story and a memory builds… we have 5 so I know the antics that can take place. Oh and the lesson? Never leave home without your camera!

  3. Or perhaps a carreer as paparazzi. He’s got the subltle behind the scene kind of thing going on. How utterly hysterical.
    Passion is passion, yes?

  4. Madhu says:

    Hilarious! Just realised how much I miss having children in the house :-(

    • It’s what gets us through the rough patches. Not two hours before this there was a lot of bickering…:-) I can’t imagine when that day is gone. I tell them I will be a permanent fixture and that they can’t get rid of me that easily!

  5. Lynne Ayers says:

    On one of our holidays with my sister and her husband, we arrived at a bird sanctuary on the coast and the light was breathtaking – I was almost out of the car before it had stopped, pushing my sister aside as I scrambled to take shots – so, no, you are not alone.

  6. I only have two, and they’re girls, but there’s a reason they don’t have good video capability on their phones. LOL

    You have a gift for storytelling! I don’t know any of you but could easily picture the scene. :)

    • Thank you for the kind words! I was talking about girls vs. boys to a friend the other day. We both agreed that girls (based on things my friends with girls say) are just different and the difficulties raising them are different than the difficulties raising boys. We both couldn’t picture a girl putting something like that on Youtube, but could easily see a boy doing that for laughs. :-)

  7. i mayfly says:

    This morning I saw a YouTube of a 4-yr old having a tantrum after a parent asked her to help clear the dinner table. I commented to Mot that I thought that might prove to be a handy parenting tool to supplement bribery – the threat of global humiliation. Then I thought about this post of yours and how that strategy might just backfire upon a parent.

    Yeah, I had to stop jumping on the trampoline with the kids when they found out they could make me pee myself if I started laughing while jumping. And then there was the challenge to make liquids come out of my nose it they cracked me up after I took a gulp of whatever I was drinking. Good times for ALL! ;-)

    • Youtube does put a whole different spin on things, doesn’t it? :-) I had second thoughts about deleting it after telling a friend about it, and she said, “Oh you should have posted it–it would have been hysterical!” Mind you she has three boys as well.

  8. shobavish says:

    Great narrative – I love the way you have got the action and the emotion!.:-) Will be sharing the “it happens every 24 hours or so…” remark. My boys will really appreciate that!

  9. I appreciated both your comments and the boys’ responses… I’ve been that snarky smartass kid, and the one whose enthusiasm has gobsmacked the surrounding people.
    The thing is, I’ve had the photography bug from time to time also, and I currently carry my small pocket camera in my pants pocket, ready for just such an opportunity… which I usually miss, because I’m driving in my car, alone.
    {Insert the sound of a loud, juicy raspberry/Bronx cheer here.}
    Good luck and good times!

  10. Sounds like a really funny family moment.

  11. Truly made me laugh!
    All the best and thanks for visiting!

  12. klparry says:

    Great story, very funny. My boys are grown men now but your story did make me miss the kids they once were. Thank you for that.

Please share your thoughts!

