The Year 2000 Couldn’t Have Been a Leap Year…

Today I spent the day going back through my old blogs and correcting oversights (translated into, lack of credit for some photos, cough).  I spent the better part of the day doing this, and right at the end of my torture–I mean work, the boys arrived home from school.

The twins sat down on the couch to unwind, and were talking when suddenly Buzzard says to me, “Can you tell me if 2000 was a leap year?”

Not looking up from my computer (truth be known, I barely heard the question) I said, “No, it wasn’t,” while I continued to type.

I hear, “Can you tell me why?”

Still not looking up, I say, “2000 is not divisible by 4.”

Roo says, “What?”

I stop to look up at them, but my brain is still churning on the inappropriately credited photo’s.  “It’s not divisible by 4.”

A reasonable amount of argument came from both of them, while Roo laughed at me and said, “Mom, that’s scary.  Of course it’s divisible by 4.”  He looks at me with a bit of mischief.  “It’s 500.”

Still not paying attention, I say stupidly, “Well, 200’s not.”

This has them laughing even harder.  I frown for a minute, then realize what I’m saying.  “Oh, O.k.”  I start snickering and then get back to my computer when Buzzard says,

“Boy, that’s a classic case of a child left behind.”  (And now you know how much they watch Big Bang Theory).  Then he looks at me, and I can see he’s realized I’m too old to have been part of the whole child left behind thing.  So he says, “Well, you would have been left behind if they’d had it.”

Indeed.

This entry was posted in aging, Beauty, Brothers, comedy, daily post, faith, Family, Inspirational, living, parenting, Post of the Day, postaday, Sons, Teens and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Year 2000 Couldn’t Have Been a Leap Year…

  1. Your way of expressing a story literally makes me laugh out loud! Love it!!!!

  2. not being born with the math gene myself, I can surely empathize! Great post, reads quick.

  3. Jim Cantwell says:

    “2000 is not divisible by 4″ genius on your feet thinking I do this too then when I realize what I said I bang my head haha.
    Big bang theory rocks!!!
    Great post Arnel

  4. LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!
    Why are your boys like this?! loool! Please can I come over to your house one day?! I haven’t been able to stop laughing this evening..this post..plus this one http://robincoyle.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/the-danger-of-typing-and-driving-writers-take-note/#comment-968 my gosh! Everyone has me in stitches tonight!

    • That was too funny! The boys thought it was pretty hysterical too! Thanks for sharing that–I posted her link to FB. Although it’s pretty funny over here, we have our fair share of fights too. You just have to try and maintain a sense of humor no matter what is going on.

  5. Just so you know…
    Any year divisible by 4 is a leap year, unless it’s also divisible by 400. 2000 wasn’t, 2400 won’t be. Other than that, we’re good.
    Thank Pope Gregory the Whateverth who screwed with the calendars, so people went to bed on October Fourth and woke up on October Twentieth, or some such nonsense.

  6. jmgoyder says:

    Wonderfully funny!

  7. This is one of the posts that makes me literally LOL :) So glad you shared this!

  8. Colline says:

    I think I like your boys! They have an air of mischief about them :)

  9. veraersilia says:

    oh, I was just jesting … you and your boys know it too. Vera

Please share your thoughts!

