Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting Moment

The photo challenge at wordpress this week is Fleeting Moment.  As a subplot, they added street scenes.  I captured two this evening on our downtown mall while testing a new camera.

Waitress Preparing for the Dinner crowd…

Wishing for a ride on the Carousal…

This entry was posted in Photography, Post of the Day, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting Moment

  1. I like the 2nd one – it seems particularly appropriate that it be in black and white.

  2. terry1954 says:

    i would love to be sitting under one of those umbrellas having an afternoon tea. great photo!

  3. Being brand new to your blog, i had no idea where you were located. Looking at your header, I thought…hmmm…could be Virginia or maybe Central PA.
    Naturally, i was so excited to see the historical marker in your street scene! Another clue!
    My geography nun would be SO proud! Virginia it is!!
    and for anyone else who wants to read the marker, I found a nice link: http://www.hmdb.org/marker.asp?marker=5576
    (P.S. I know I’m going to LOVE your blog!)

    • Karen, thank you for stopping by! My header is actually Scotland, off the back of Stirling Castle! Indeed I am in VA. I grew up in CA, but I love this area. It is so beautiful and full of history. I loved looking around your blog. You must be quite the gardener! I am hopeless at gardening! Have a look at my flower photos and if you have time, let me know the names of some of those flowers! I went to Monticello yesterday and had to take pics of the name stakes so I wouldn’t forget what I was photographing!

  4. bluebee says:

    I love the restaurant shot – it speaks of good things to come

  5. Madhu says:

    The little boy is adorable, but I too love the first one. Love the play of light and the shadows on the sidewalk.

  6. Nice black and white shots!

  7. Great photos Arnel !! Really puts mine to shame LOL ! There are so many great photographers here – i just love looking through them all ! Thanks for sharing :)

    • Thank you, but I don’t think so! Sometimes when I’m looking at my photos to crop I think they are terrible. I don’t do anything with them, and then I come back later (like a few days, or even a couple of weeks), and suddenly it comes to me how it should be cropped. And I’ve had plenty of bad pictures that just get deleted. I recently was testing a new camera and took about 50 pictures. Only a couple came out. That was when I learned that closing down the aperture can create noise in a digital photo. So can a long shutter speed, and also, heat! Go figure. Photography has quite the learning curve, but I tell you, digital is a Godsend–you don’t have to wait for film and then try to remember what your settings were!

  8. Madman says:

    Have a close look at the second picture: the person in the background looks like a naked man trying to hide his willy :-D

Please share your thoughts!

