Coral Friday 7.20.12

No, that is not a typo.  Last week while in Bonaire, my husband suggested I do coral Friday instead of Floral Friday.   So today, I have pictures of coral.  Hope you like them.

“Of all the means to insure happiness throughout the whole life, by far the most important is the acquisition of friends.” 
― Epicurus

Barrel Sponge

Sleractinia? and Baby Drum Fish

Azure Vase Sponge

Tube Sponges

Brain Coral

This entry was posted in Beauty, coral, faith, Floral Fridays, Inspirational, macro photography, Photography, Post of the Day, postaday, Scuba Diving and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Coral Friday 7.20.12

  1. I needed a “love” button for this post!!!

  2. It looks like they all came out from your previous dream shot! Amazing!

  3. jmgoyder says:

    Breathtaking photos and the quote is perfect.

  4. Janie Thurman says:

    Loves the coral. Think brain coral is really interesting. The Azure coral is beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Madman says:

    Beautiful, looks like the water is cristal clear, with here and there some plancton.

  6. Amazing photos! Coral is so fascinating! What kind of camera did you use for these underwater scenes?

    • Fairly low tech, a canon g12. It was my hubby’s camera, but he got a Canon D7 for fathers day, so I nabbed his P&S. It has it’s limitations with an f/2.8-8, and the flash has to have the diffuser on (which doesn’t always stay on in the water), but once I learned it’s quirks, it was fine for me. Too hard to fiddle with something big and heavy if you’re new to diving. :-)

  7. terry1954 says:

    i have always had a fascination with coral. i wonder if i could grow corral in a tank by itself for the beauty of watching it

    • Your question intrigued me enough to search it out. Here, http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/corals/propagating.php is a place with the answer. Apparently, yes, you can. According to this, coral reefs are composed of tiny animals called polyps–millions of them for the limestone skeleton that forms coral reefs. If you have a chance, give it a read. And let me know if you decide to pursue this–I’d be curious about the process!

      • terry1954 says:

        thank u for finding the link, i am going to look it up today

      • terry1954 says:

        thank u for finding the link, i am going to look it up today
        that was very interesting but i can see it takes a lot of work, special tanks, and foods. i would love to try it but not right now. i want to be able to concentrate on it and i can not give it the consideration it needs with Al here

      • I just read bits of it, so I didn’t see how much work it was, although I’m not surprised. Seems like it would be a delicate balancing act.

      • terry1954 says:

        very, i have had fish tanks and they take a lot of work, but this is a delicate process, that seems until you get the knack of the waters, foods, lightings, etc. you could lose a lot of big dollars with the corals. there would be the need for big studies before attempting, but i would love to try it at another time in my life, so will keep it on my to do list

      • :-) I have one of those lists too…

  8. adinparadise says:

    Seeing these, makes me wish I was a scuba diver. ;)

  9. sayvan says:

    Coral are the flowers of the sea…. thus we still have a floral friday….

  10. robincoyle says:

    Wow! Your husband is a smart man, and YOU are an excellent photographer.

  11. deniz says:

    Ooooh, so lovely. I’ve never been snorkeling!

  12. Lynne Ayers says:

    Oh my gosh Arnel, these are beautiful. Such a different landscape.

  13. asignoflife says:

    So many fun colors and shapes! I wanted to touch everything to see what it felt like.

    • I feel the same what when I’m down there. Unfortunately, most things are not friendly to touch. I accidentally set my hand down on fire coral, and it was really painful!

  14. Cool! I’ll bet you had fun with that underwater camera. ;-)

    • I did, but It’s been since February that I’ve used one, and I’d forgotten a lot of things, so the first four days all my photos were pretty bad, LOL. Then my memory came back to me…Gotta love those, “Oh yeah!” moments.

Please share your thoughts!

