IR Friday 8.10.12

I’ve been fiddling with Infra Red Photography for a couple of weeks now, which is appropriate since the flowers of spring are all but gone, and the hot summer has done a number on the flower options around town.  I thought I’d post a few and would appreciate some feedback if you have time!

In keeping with the tradition of posting a quote, here is another one to ponder for the coming week.  One of my favorites, and certainly appropriate for photography given how many pictures are actually usable out of the thousands that we take…

”I haven’t failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” – Thomas Edison

This entry was posted in Beauty, faith, Family, Floral Fridays, flower photography, Flowers, Inspirational, macro photography, Post of the Day, postaday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to IR Friday 8.10.12

  1. Arindam says:

    Excellent Photography. Last two pictures are my favorites.

  2. robincoyle says:

    The flowers are beautiful, but Oh Em Gee, the tree is amazing!

    (You get an email about this comment?)

    • I just checked and yes, I did! And thanks! That tree is at Ashlawn, home of James Monroe, and it is beautiful…

      • robincoyle says:

        Yeah! Maybe the problem is fixed now.

        I love how the tree is filtering the sun.

      • That’s one of the things I liked as well. It’s funny to see Ashlawn (have you?). It’s so down to earth and small, compared to his neighbor Mr. Jefferson. When we are visiting Montepelier, the tour guide said that Jefferson told Madison that his home wasn’t dignified enough for visiting dignitaries, and that he really ought to do something about it. I wonder what he thought of Ashlawn, in that case…

      • robincoyle says:

        I have’t been. But we went to Andrew Jackson’s home in Nashville and it was modest. Charming, but modest.

      • I’ve never been there. Maybe someday. I like Nashville. A very unique place. My nephew went to music school there…

  3. Pat Bailey says:

    This is new for me. It seems like IR worked best when there was contrast – like the first flower (I did a wow when I saw it) and the tree (another wow).

    • IR lets in all the infrared wavelengths, whereas in traditional photography they are filtered out. Therefore the colors are changed. Light exposure does seem to make a difference (not always good), and dark colors. It is very contrasty, which is one of the things I like about it. I tried several pictures, but it doesn’t look good for all things, and it is very grainy so you have to remove the grain.

  4. I love infrared photography—you don’t see it very often, though, not sure why, unless it’s very expensive? Love love love the photo of the tree with the sun shining through it.

    • I think you either love it or hate it. I really love them. I’ve been researching IR for a couple of months. I think it’s limiting and that’s why you don’t see it a lot. As far as expense, I used the IR filter in a Lightroom plug in to get a feel for it, so it didn’t cost anything. But probably the best effects are from cameras that have been converted to IR by removing the IR filter in the camera and replacing it with a filter that doesn’t block those wavelengths. I’m toying with converting my old Nikon, but haven’t decided. Several websites suggested picking up an older camera from EBay and having it converted for a dedicated camera. The conversion costs about 180.00, but a good IR filter that you affix to your lense would cost close to that. For right now though I’m sticking with Lightroom method.

  5. I did a little IR shooting back in the day, but it wasn’t my favorite thing… I liked shooting 4X5 sheet film and making Kodalith drop-out prints.
    4X5 cameras, I think, had the best compromise between portability and tweaking the image.
    Digital gives you a lot of latitude to tweak, but in-camera adjustments aren’t as easy.

    • So is the Kodalith a type of IR? 4X5 must be a big camera? You can tweak in camera, but everybody I know says to do it on the software instead. Seems weird, cause with film you always want whatever your looking for to be on the film, and post process as little as possible. I really like IR–some of the filters they can put in the camera nowadays produce some really beautiful stuff.

      • No, Kodalith is high-contrast lithographic film. It has only blacks and whites, no gray tones. It was fun.
        4X5’s had a long run… I especially liked the 4X5 Speed Graphic, which was the camera you saw photographers using in movies up until the 1970’s… the big box with the big flashbulbs popping.
        Everything was manual, so you could play with everything and anything… doing a
        time-exposure of an action scene, or doing multiple exposures on the same film… them
        was the days.

      • Oh, I see. Well, there are a lot of things from 30 years ago that were really great, but old school. I miss some of that, but I dug out my old canon eos 650 and was thinking it would be fun to play with. But whenever I thought of not getting a preview of the picture I just took, I couldn’t bring myself to do it. I can’t figure out how I got along without that crutch. Although some IR film might be fun in it.

  6. Gorgeous! I love the trees!

  7. terry1954 says:

    absolutely gorgeous!!!

  8. ayoliag says:

    Favs are he second and fourth :D

  9. Amazing! Especially that tree! So spectacular!

  10. Gilly Gee says:

    This is just beautiful but I don’t understand, in photoshop I sometimes use an infra red filter but here you are using one in camera?

    • Thanks! No, I used the one in lightroom. But you can convert a digital camera by having the internal filter removed and replaced with glass that allows IR wavelengths to pass through to the sensor. Digital cameras all come equipped with internal filters that filter out the infrared rays in the atmosphere. An internal filter is preferable to using a filter on the end of your lens, because they are dark and you have to set up the camera on a tripod, focus, and then attach the filter. The filter in photoshop/lightroom is more convenient than that, but the best method is probably to just have a dedicated IR camera that has the filter internally. When it is internal, it doesn’t get in the way of shutter speed or f/stop settings like it does when it is placed on the lens, so handheld shots are possible. The drawback with that is extra cost unless you have an old DSLR lying around you want to convert. If you convert there are several wavelength filter choices, depending on how you want your colors transformed, but whatever you choose is what your camera does for everything, so it is somewhat limiting. Here is a link that talks all the techno garb: http://dpfwiw.com/ir.htm

  11. From glancing at your comments I see that many, as I do love the tree photo with the sun shining through…Diane

  12. Firasz says:

    I adore your shots. Really liked your IR treatment. thats a great idea to try too…
    The tree shot is spectacular and admire it looking at it… the last flower is very beautiful too : )

    • Thank you Firasz! Your photography is very amazing. I have seen some of it, but plan to go back for another look. Yes, trees seem to respond very well to IR treatment. I think it would have been a tad better though if the sun had been coming from the side instead of head on. The flower was a nice surprise–I wasn’t sure how that would turn out!

Please share your thoughts!

