Floral Friday 8.17.12

A friend of mine has a lotus pond, and she graciously let me photograph it yesterday evening.

As a lotus flower is born in the water, grows in the water and rises out of the water to stand above it unsoiled, so I, born in the world, raised in the world having overcome the world, live unsoiled by the world. –Hindu Prince Gautama Siddharta, the founder of Buddhism, 563-483 B.C.

The leaves are impervious to the water they collect, which beads up into puddles that round up.

A Lotus Pod

A New Bud

Lotus Bud on the verge of opening

Slightly Open Bud

The End of the Bloom Cycle


This entry was posted in Beauty, Floral Fridays, flower photography, Flowers, Inspirational, Lotus Flower, macro photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Floral Friday 8.17.12

  1. Your friend is so fortunate to have a lotus pond! And, wow, what gorgeous shots you took Arnel, of this exceptional flower!

    • Thanks Marina! Now I want a Lotus Pond, after being over there and seeing it. She said she started out with 30 tubers, a little of a year ago. Well she has WAY more than that now. It is amazing! I may go back this weekend and take more!

  2. Each photo is more striking that the next! I’m sure your friend is delighted with this outcome!!!

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Absolutely brilliant photos!

    • Thank you Beedie! Somehow this went to my spam folder. I wanted to tell you I think about you all the time now, as I hung a bird seed feeder and two hummingbird feeders on my deck. I’m trying to get some birdie photos, but I haven’t been successful. You are so, so good at these types of photos! It makes me appreciate them even more.

Please share your thoughts!

