Floral Friday 9.7.12

Faithful Nibbles posted  a quote from Sir Francis Drake the other day that was so, so appropriate to how I’ve been feeling, I thought I’d use it for this weeks Floral Friday.

Prayer of Francis Drake, 1577

Disturb us, Lord, when
We are too pleased with ourselves,
When our dreams have come true
Because we dreamed too little,
When we arrived safely
Because we sailed too close to the shore.

Disturb us, Lord, when
with the abundance of things we possess
We have lost our thirst
For the waters of life;
Having fallen in love with life,
We have ceased to dream of eternity
And in our efforts to build a new earth,
We have allowed our vision
Of the new Heaven to dim.

Disturb us, Lord, to dare more boldly,
To venture on wilder seas
Where storms will show Your mastery;
Where losing sight of land,
We shall find the stars.

We ask you to push back
The horizons of our hopes;
And to push back the future
In strength, courage, hope, and love.

This we ask in the name of our Captain,
Who is Jesus Christ.

 Sir Francis Drake (1540 – 1596)

Mums

Hibiscus, Monticello Gardens

Autumn Crocus, Monticello Gardens

Prickly Poppy, Monticello Gardens

Pink Spiked Celosia, Monticello Gardens

Monticello Gardens

This entry was posted in Beauty, Beauty in the world, faith, Floral Fridays, flower photography, Flowers, Inspirational, macro photography, Post of the Day, postaday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Floral Friday 9.7.12

  1. Beautiful pictures and poem…Diane

  2. Momma E. says:

    Beautiful! I can’t pick a favorite…. thanks for adding that wonderful “stress” ;) to my day. If only my other stresses could be that great…Hope to catch up soon, and thank you so much for participating in my “civics class” the other day. We got some great points out there, and our respectful discussion is how Washington should be conducting themselves! Love Ya!

    • Thanks! I’m struggling with photos as the summer flowers are sparse. With the cooler weather I hope it gets better. The political discussion was good, but I think I really need to keep out of them. It makes my blood pressure go up! :-)

      • Momma E. says:

        I know what you mean, but every now and again I find it helpful to let off that steam. Im really confused as to who I’m going to vote for this year. I can’t support the Ryan plan of vouchering 2500 a year for my health insurance with the rest coming out of my pocket. I’ll be dying on the side of the road, gasping for breath because I wont be able to afford my meds or to see a doctor. ( 50 dollar a month copay now just for one of my asthma meds)

      • Well if Obama gets reflected again, they will cut Medicare reimbursements and Doctors won’t participate. Which means Medicare will be worthless. Not sure what will happen in the private sector. It makes me so mad that they never seemed to look at internal spending–you know, the extravagant dinners and expensive jet fuel at the people’s expense. It’s always about how much hey spend on the people, not on themselves. It makes me sick.

      • Momma E. says:

        I know, I did a piece awhile ago on government excess spending. Michelle O herself has a staff of 23 with total salarys in excess of one million…. Mamie and Jackie made do with one personal assistant, Mamie even paid for it out of her husbands salary. ….

      • I just can’t figure out why they never consider the money they spend. I mean, it comes from us for crying out loud.

      • Momma E. says:

        also, I know what you mean about the sparse flowers, theres not much around here either although we seem to have left the drought behind for the moment anyway.

      • When I visited Monticello the other day, I was surprised at the flowers the had blooming. Way more than I expected.

  3. terry1954 says:

    oh wow, i absolutely loved the poem and the butterfly!!

  4. faithfulnibbles says:

    :-)

  5. Lynne Ayers says:

    Arnel, I really like that second to last photo – very very nice. And i enjoyed the words too :)

Please share your thoughts!

