When did that happen?

Sunday afternoon, my oldest became an Eagle Scout. 

This is a big deal.  It takes a lot of sticktoitiveness to become an eagle scout.  If a boy scout becomes an eagle scout, it is around the age of 17 or 18.   Usually because once they hit 18, they are no longer elligible.  So, with all the work required, I wasn’t quite prepared for the train to slow to a crawl once bugaboo had completed all the work.  In retrospect, planning the ceremony was more painful than actually accomplishing everything it took to get there.

I didn’t quite get it either.  I mean, how can a celebration be more intimidating than planning and executing a community project?  The answer had to do with speech giving.  Bugaboo DID NOT want to give a speech, and put off the writing of it until the day before the ceremony. 

He gets that from my husband, (the not wanting to give a speech) who said to me  several weeks ago, “You know that one of the parents has to make a speech.”

“O.K…” I replied cautiously.

“It’s not going to be me.”  He says with finality.

Now you know why I haven’t been posting.  I’ve been trying to wrack my brains for what to say.  I started several drafts, then scrapped them.  I wanted it to be funny.  Humorous.  Uplifting.  They weren’t.  I tried to analyze my problem, but the answer proved elusive.  Elusive that is, until the day of the ceremony (the last minute writing he gets from me), when I discovered the problem was emotion.

I couldn’t write comedy because I was emotional.  My oldest was no longer a baby.  A toddler.  A child.  An adolescent.  When I hear him speak on the phone, he sounds like his dad.  When did that happen? 

Now he is 15, and well on his way to being a young adult.  I can hardly believe how the years have flown by.  When I thought about where he had started, and where he was now, it was mind boggling.  That led me to think of opportunities I’d missed with him, how I wished I had written down more of the scout stories he’d told me about regarding his adventures.  In the blink of an eye it was gone, and I was no longer stuck wondering when it would end, but sorry that I didn’t savor the journey with him more.

He slipped out the door of adolescence while I wasn’t looking, already halfway through the teen years and firmly headed for the door that was marked young adult, and I couldn’t call him back.  But I see a resourceful young man before me who on some days has more wisdom than I do, and who is enjoying high school and the successes he worked so hard for.  The possibilities before him are endless, and I am very proud of him.

This entry was posted in Boy Scouting, Brothers, Sons. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When did that happen?

  1. Patti Ayer says:

    You should be so proud. You’ve done a great job-enjoy! Wish I could have been there!

  2. Laura says:

    That’s HUGE! Congratulations and well done to you both. Coleman wants to earn his Eagle. He’s just a Webelo right this second. It’s a lot to take in, everything required, but the sense of accomplishment, and more practically the doors it opens.

    Again, a job well done. Congrats.

  3. Mary O says:

    What a wonderful accomplishment, for the whole family! He’s a great kid, I hope he’s enjoying all the accolades.

Please share your thoughts!

