Supplication of the Squirrel

So now that Bugs is driving, I’m noticing more road kill.  I don’t know why this is, other than it’s on my mind more.  Specifically, I’ve noticed a lot more dead squirrels.

I think the reason I noticed this was their position on the road.  Almost everytime I’ve seen one, at least one furry paw has been outstretched to the sky, as though in supplication.

I asked DH what he thought about this observation.

“Don’t they run like rabbits?”  He said.

“Huh?” I said,

“You know, front feet together, back feet together.”

“Oh, well, yes, I guess so.”

“So they are mid hop, get hit by a car and thrown over so that their outstretched arms which are mid-hop are reaching to the sky.”

I thought about this for a minute, then started laughing at the thought.  Sounds kinda mean, I know.  But in the end, I just can’t get too fussed about the idea that one more of my bulbs will be left unearthed. 

I really hope there are no PETA people reading this.

This entry was posted in Family, Post of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Supplication of the Squirrel

  1. Another excellent post thanks for sharing! I enjoy reading your blog very much. Spending time with my family is something I love to do.

    Fun Family Activities

Please share your thoughts!

