Going To The Movies

We go to the movies a lot. For me, it’s one of the best memories from my childhood. See, I grew up in California, the land of make-believe. Things like Disneyland, Hollywood and the Movies were as much a part of my life as the Los Angeles Dodgers, Santa Monica and Mexican food. And I have brought my love of movies forward to my adult life. It’s fortunate that I also married someone who shares that with me.

It’s different for the kids though. They don’t quite have that love, although they seem to be more willing now than when they were younger. And the movies they are willing to see have also changed. They wouldn’t be caught dead, for instance, in a “children’s” movie, like, say, Mr. Popper’s Penguins. Or, for example, they saw a fantasy movie while DH and I saw Tangled.

Lately though, I’ve been disappointed with the movies. The last five I saw, without giving anything away, had terrible endings. Five in a row, the most recent being Columbiana. A few days ago, DH and I saw One Day. First 3/4 very charming and entertaining, with a sudden tempo change the last quarter–so abrupt I was actually mad when I left the theater. Harry Potter, Captain America, Crazy Stupid Love; I hated every ending. (Harry Potter because of the way they changed it from the book).

I mentioned this to a friend, who agreed. What is the deal with endings that are unsatisfying? Maybe I’m the minority. Maybe other people don’t see it that way at all. All I know is, I like resolution, happy endings and personal growth in the main character. If I don’t get it, I’m unfulfilled and annoyed.

I wonder how much that has to do with my own life. Worthwhile food for thought, I think…

This entry was posted in Family, movies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going To The Movies

  1. Bruce Schumann says:

    Go see “The Help” and at least you won’t hate the ending.

Please share your thoughts!

