Running The Womens 4 Miler

This blog is dedicated to Katie, the very special daughter of a friend.  This was her first four mile run, and she did a fantastic job keeping pace among 3500 other women.  I was honored to run beside her!

I’m a runner.  For several reasons.  The biggest of these is, I simply like to eat without worrying too much about what I’m eating.  As I approach the age of 50, it gets more and more difficult to do that unless you offset it somehow.  I got the biggest laugh at the scene in Freaky Friday when Jamie Lee Curtis and Lindsey Lohan are in the car and they get into a scuffle about eating French Fries.  It’s funny, because it’s true.

Another reason I run is, it helps curb my anxiety.  I didn’t realize until I was older that if you ran 10 miles in the morning, you just don’t have as much energy to get worked up about life.  A great release indeed!

I don’t usually run in races, but on Saturday, September 3, 2011 our town held it’s annual  The Womens 4 miler, which supports Breast Cancer Research.  It’s such a great cause, I thought I’d give it a shot.  In 1988 it had it’s first run with 350 runners.  Since then it has grown 10x’s that size, now taking 3500 runners, and raising in the neighborhood of $300,000.00 each year.

So, thank you Katie for running with me Saturday!  You made the morning worthwhile!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running The Womens 4 Miler

  1. janie says:

    Congrations!!!

Please share your thoughts!

