Shrunken Fashions

We want our kids to be independent, right?  Especially boys, we want them to learn to cook a few things, clean up, and be able to do laundry.  Our future daughter-in-laws will be forever grateful, right?

All three of my boys know how to do their own laundry.  Bugs happens to be the best about keeping his up.  Yesterday evening I heard the washer going, and knew he had started his own load of laundry.

After hearing it though, something nagged at me, but I couldn’t figure out what.  Today I found out what.  When I went in to do two loads of my own, I found a load I had put in the washer the day before.  I stared at it for a moment before opening the dryer to have a look.

“Bugs, did you put my clothes in the dryer?”  I ask as I pull out a pair of jeans that will now only fit someone a size smaller.

“Yeah, I went ahead and dried your clothes,” he says, pleased as punch with himself.  He sees the look on my face.  “What’s the matter?”

“I don’t dry these jeans,” I say.  “Or these,” pulling out another pair that will now only fit a twelve year old.

“You’re always saying how I need to do my own laundry.  Now I have.  Don’t worry they’ll be fine.”  He takes them from me and holds them up to my backside.  “They’ll still fit,” he says, eyeballing the comparison.  “So they’ll be a little tight.  Isn’t that what girls do anyway?  Spend hours trying to get on really tight jeans?”

I look horrified.  “Not me!”  I exclaim with as much dignity as possible.

“Well,” he says as he walks out of the laundry room, “now you have some really nice skinny jeans.  That’s the style now.”

Skinny jeans indeed.  One thing I know for certain:  I am not built for skinny jeans.  I hope someone out there is having a good sale on jeans tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Family, jeans, laundry, Post of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shrunken Fashions

  1. janie says:

    Bless bugs. His heart was in the right place 5 stars for that. I need him here to do my laundry, want to send him out here? Bet he could cook for me and help clean the house too.

Please share your thoughts!

