The Magic of Disney

I grew up in California.  Lived there until I was 19.  Therefore, I grew up with a love of Disney, having gone at least once every year until I graduated from High School, and even making a point to go to Disney when I came back to visit after having moved to another state.  Silly as it sounds, there is something magical about Disney for me.

When I had children, I wanted it to be the source of fond memories for them that it was for me.  I wanted them to see all the magic, as well as the skill involved in making the magic come to life, and to love it as I love it.

It was different for them though.  Our first trip to Disney World was in 2000, when they were 4 and 5.  Roo and Buzzard had already had 2 years of ABA therapy, but we were concerned about the overstimulation, and Buzzard was still coping with food issues and vomiting on occasion.  Still, my husband had a meeting there, and it seemed like as good a time as any to  test the waters.  So off we went.  Overall it was a good trip, except for Roo walking around most of the time with his lower lip puckered out chanting, “I wanna go home!”

A little distraction worked wonders, and all in all we came home with memories that would last a lifetime.

The next time we would travel to Disney World would be 2007.  I had begun to worry that the time they would actually want to do something like that with us was running out, so I planned a trip over a school break the end of October.  They grumbled and groaned about the trip, saying it was for young children, that they were too old for such a vacation.  I didn’t listen, and dragged everyone along.

And for a second time, everyone loosened up once we arrived, and they enjoyed themselves.  Disney was putting on a Halloween trick or treating event where they closed the park early, and if you bought a ticket for the evening, you could stay with minimal crowds and get candy at every ride.  The boys had a blast–all four of them!

So when my husband’s meeting came around again to be in Orlando, we expected to take the boys.  But when we asked them, they frowned at us, then said, “Disney?  Uh, I don’t think so mom.”

“Aw, come on.  It’ll be fun!” I counter.  “We’ll see Harry Potter world,” I said as though dangling a carrot in front of a starving rabbit.  They didn’t bite.

“We’ve got school.  We’ve got cross-country practice.  We can’t miss.”

“It’s only two days.” I say, deflating a bit.

“Nope.  Two days of school is a lot.”

So I decide this will be a fun getaway without kids.  We left on Thursday and came back today.  We went to Disney, Epcot, and Universal Studios.  And I was sad.  Everywhere I looked I saw children having a great time.  At one little food stand where they had ice-cream and funnel cakes, there was a woman with three small boys.  It reminded me so much of when we had come the first time.  I missed seeing excited little faces that held the wonder of seeing everything for the first time, or marveling in the ability to be big enough to ride a roller coaster.

Sure we had fun–a different kind of fun walking through and looking in shops, seeing the shows instead of getting on every roller coaster (and wanting to barf halfway through).  But in the end, I think I decided that it just wasn’t the same without kids, once you’ve gone with kids.

For me, Disney is best left for when the kids want to come along.  Who knows when that will be.  Maybe it won’t be until there are grandkids.  One thing I’m pretty sure of is, the Disney Chapter is closed for now.

This entry was posted in Aspergers, Brothers, Disney, Family, vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Magic of Disney

  1. janie says:

    Don’t give up, they might surprise you yet and do another trip with you.

  2. journeyman1977 says:

    Arnel, I just want to give you a big hug and say you’re an awesome mom 🙂

    • Thanks Joseph. Parenting is funny. You never really feel like you have it down. And when you approach it, something goes sideways, and it slips out of sight. The teen years so far are my favorite.

      • journeyman1977 says:

        really? thought they’d be tougher. but just reading another post and Roo seems to sound very thoughtful and mature. very nice.

      • Teenagers? Well, there are things. For one they think they are right all the time. They also think parents are dumb and have never tried half the crap they try to get away with. But over the last few years, I’ve found that the more matter of fact I am about consequences, the less flack I get. The more irate I get, the more they argue and get worked up. Not that there isn’t still a reasonable amount of presenting their case. But by the time they get to this age, they are fun and if you give them a bit of space, IMHO, and let them have their ideals (even when you think they may be totally off base) they really are fun to be around. And the surprising thing to me is, my boys still love to be loved on. They love being hugged by their mom, which warms my soul.

      • journeyman1977 says:

        how awesome is that! 🙂 they just impressed me more than they already had!

      • journeyman1977 says:

        No, Arnel…thank you….I gave up on people. You and a few others restored my faith in the good that is out there. thank you for sharing. It made a world of difference to a man on the brink. God bless and hugs.

      • Same to you. You know, it’s hard to remember that the only thing that matters is our own actions. I try to tell my boys that constantly. Yes the other person might be a real shit. But at the end of the line, God will not ask us about them. He will ask us about us. So as hard as it is, (and believe me, sometimes I fail spectacularly at this) it is always better to take the high road, because in the end, we are only responsible for our own behavior. Beth Moore, a female evangelist once said that she thought of it this way: When she stands before God, he is going to have a bounty of gifts that he gives us. And when we unwrap them, we will see that they are all the things that he tried to give us/show us–all that was good over the course of our lives, but we refused them. I think that’s true, that we sometimes can’t see it or refuse for whatever reason–fear, anger, stubbornness. But the morally high road, what is right doesn’t always feel good, and sometimes feels like a punishment. But that brings me back to that we are not responsible for the other person. We have to have faith that God will sort that out, even if we never see what that looks like. LOL there are times I wish fervently for a good look at it though.

      • journeyman1977 says:

        Thanks for always, always taking the time. I love what you said about the bounty of gifts and the high ground. Better late than never 🙂 Your boys are blessed. I hope they know it. Have an awesome day, Arnel. You’re Gold Standard.

  3. journeyman1977 says:

    And Janie’s right…you never know 😉

Please share your thoughts!

