You Can’t Undo Life…

Yesterday was one of those days where you are gliding along, nobody’s arguing, the weather is lovely, and you just get to relax.  You get a few productive things done, and then all of a sudden it comes to a screeching halt.

We went to church in the morning, came home and I whipped up a brunch of comfort food for the boys–biscuits and sausage gravy, fried eggs and hash browns.  Everybody was content, and I sat down to blog.

Now Bugs has been having trouble with his phone, and he’s asked if we would help him update to 5.0.  He’d tried, but he kept getting the message that the memory was full.  So I’m happily blogging along, and I notice he’s sitting on the couch not really doing anything so I tell him to go get his computer and I’ll help him with his phone.

When he comes back with it a few minutes later, I plug everything in and sure enough, it gives me the message that there is no memory and we should remove some photos.  He doesn’t want to remove photo’s, so we start taking off apps, since that is what is taking sooooo much space on the little bar at the bottom of the screen.

It doesn’t help.  We take off music.  No change.  So we copy his pictures from the phone to the desktop, delete the photo’s off the phone (but not before I’ve made him delete sixty some odd photo’s permanently because I’m not a computer geek, and DH is, and he came to the party a little late).

Success!  The phone synced with iTunes, backed up to iTunes, updated to 5.0, then synced again.  I dunno, maybe there was another backup in there.  Then DH asked Bugs if he wanted to sync to iCloud.  He said yes so we did.

He turned on his phone when all was said and done, and opened up his contacts and was looking at all my contacts.  None of them were his contacts.  You can imagine is outrage.  DH and I were horrified.  Then DH says, “Well, lets just turn off iCloud and sync again, we can get your contacts from Windows.”

He looks on Bugs computer in Windows contacts.  It’s empty.  “Haven’t you EVER backed up your contacts?”  He asks.

“How would I know to do that?  NOBODY TOLD ME!!!!!”

He’s upset.  Both of us feel awful.  We don’t know what to say, which is probably a good thing because I don’t think he wanted to hear anything we had to say.  He went to his room and stayed there most of the evening.

This morning I could tell he was still upset.  I still felt terrible.  When he was getting out of the car this morning, I stopped him to say I was sorry again, and he smiled and said, “It’s O.K.  You can’t undo life.”

Indeed.

This entry was posted in Sons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Can’t Undo Life…

  1. Gosh, sounds like a typical Sunday in our house, too! Nothing like a little technical glitch to dominate a perfectly peaceful weekend!

Please share your thoughts!

