The Secret to Staying Young

Sarah on the Go posted and interesting blog today, called Time is the Same in Every Language.  In it she talks about her first quarter century coming to an end, and asks advice on how to stay young and fight aging.  Since I am twice her age, I thought this was an interesting question.

Sarah, I think there are several things that are key.  The first on my list is laughter.  You must know how to laugh when the going gets tough.  When responsibility heaps, when things go wrong, when the dog dies, your significant other isn’t who you thought they were, when the kids stray the wrong direction, when you lose your job, when your parents die, when all the things of life that happen happen, you must know how to laugh again, and you must have faith, whoever your higher power might be.

All the wrinkle creams, hair color and plastic surgeons can’t combat aging on the inside–or how we perceive life.  So a positive attitude is next on the list.  You must be able to make lemonade out of lemons, to see things with a positive swing which can be quite challenging at times, depending on what life throws our way.

This brings me to a higher power.  Sometimes, when life gets to be too much of a burden, the best thing to do is to give it over to God, or whatever your higher power is.  This can make us feel as though our burdens are less, and gives us the ability to cope when we otherwise couldn’t.  Never underestimate the power of prayer.  It might not be the answer you were looking for, but an answer always comes.

The next thing is friends.  “No man is a failure who has friends.”  Corny but true.  Especially girlfriends.  Good girlfriends are indispensable in this life.  Hold onto them forever.

Take care of yourself.  This seems like the obvious, but sometimes we get so engrossed in our lives, we forget to take care of ourselves.  And I don’t just mean exercising, eating right and getting enough sleep.  I also mean take care of the inside as well.  De-stress. Take a few days off every once in a while, unplug and take an inventory of inner turmoil.  Take steps to combat stress, because these are the things that age us on the outside.  Everybody has something different that they do to unwind.  Find what it is that works for you and do it faithfully and often.

Cut yourself some slack when you make mistakes, but don’t lose the lesson.  Get back up and get in the game.  And remember, to everything there is a season.  And seasons eventually pass–good and bad.  Remember that at the end of your life, it’s not the dates people will remember, it’s the hyphen in between–or how you lived.   Live it well.  Love deeply, and Laugh often.

This entry was posted in aging, daily post, faith, Family, Flowers, living, nostalgia, parenting, Post of the Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Secret to Staying Young

  1. robin says:

    Lovely photos and beautiful, sage advice.

  2. Bonnie says:

    What an inspiring and insightful post. It made me feel better by just reading your advice. I wholeheartedly agree with your number 1, it’s my very favorite thing to do! 🙂

  3. Love this post. It is a great, inspiring response to my questions on how to keep feeling young. I loved it all, but the end when you said to “cut yourself some slack,” well, that was the best part. I guess, a lot of the time I beat myself up for stuff beyond my control. You’re right, you just have to laugh it off sometimes!

    🙂

  4. Lynne Ayers says:

    Advice for us all – it is so necessary to step back once in a while, never forgetting to stop and smell the roses … or enjoy the freshly cut lawn, or the sight of the clothes hanging on the line blowing in a fresh breeze, or the smile in a child’s eyes, or …

  5. i mayfly says:

    good advice for anyone at any age and beautiful photos

    • Thanks! I have found that photographing flowers is a great relaxer for me. My mother is a fantastic gardener, but I did not inherit her green thumb. Mine is a black as it gets, but if I can find them to photograph, then all seems right. One of them I was sitting outside a store in their flowerbed. A guy came out and did a double take, then said, “Getting anything good?” 🙂

  6. Momma E. says:

    Wonderful, wonderful post! Love it. thank you! Best, Donna

  7. Pingback: Young at Heart « My Magnificent Mess

  8. Wonderful advice and gorgeous photos!

  9. Malou says:

    I love all the pictures and the sound advice. 😉

  10. Reblogged this on AllThingsBoys Blog and commented:

    I just was looking over some of my older posts, and came across this one. In light of my last post, I thought I should give this more attention. Did I really write this? And wasn’t I listening? Or did I forget…

  11. robincoyle says:

    An excellent lesson and reminder for all of us. Thanks Arnel, I mean Lilly.

Please share your thoughts!

