Surf Boards and Brothers

On spring break we took  trip we had been dreaming about for a long time.  We had been wanting to take the boys to Hawaii since they were little, but with three so close, and all the other issues, I just wasn’t up to the challenge.  So, we finally decided to take them for spring break.

Family trips are like playing Russian Roulette.  You just never know how they are going to go.  They could come off fantastically, or, they could be a disaster from the get go.  Trust me, we’ve had plenty of the disaster types.  One particular one stands out in mind that I think I’ve mentioned before, where from L.A. to Atlanta, Roo (who was 5 at the time, and completely exhausted) kicked the seat in front of him the whole way and wailed and whined.  I thought for sure the whole plane would insist he be sent to the cargo area.

This is the first trip we’ve taken that we’ve been in a plane with all three for more than 5 hours.  It is almost 8 from Dallas to Honolulu airport.  Well, you’ll never guess who the cranky pants was.  It was me.  I don’t know, maybe it was getting up at four in the morning.  Maybe it was being over the wing for eight hours with the engines right there next to me droning on, and on, and on…  Or maybe it was just my anxiety about being several miles up over water for 4 of the 8 hours.  I dunno, but I was surprised to see that my boys’ good moods were not to be dissuaded.  They were sooooo excited!

And that made me feel better.  That, and the 3 hour nap on the plane.  We landed at 2 pm local time, which was 8pm home time.  We stayed up until, well, very late, or early depending on your point of view, but the boys were wired and raring to go.

But none of us slept well that first night.  So, the next morning DH and I lazed on the beach while the boys tested the water.

It’s good to have brothers…

Roo and Buzzard got boogie boards and played in the surf.

After a morning on the beach, we came in and had lunch and lounged for awhile, then visited the pool.

Bugs and I went on a photo expedition before planting ourselves at the pool.  These birds Bugs photographed, patiently explaining to me the technique he used.

It was a lovely day.

This entry was posted in Brothers, Family, Mom of Special Needs Kids, Mothers of Multiples, parenting, Photography, Post of the Day, Sons, Teens, travel, vacation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Surf Boards and Brothers

  1. deniz says:

    It does sound lovely! Thanks for sharing the photos 🙂

  2. seems like you had an amazing time!
    beautiful shots! 🙂

  3. Cool post. I’m originally from HI so the pictures were nice to see. Ugh – I need to move back. There’s something about the ocean that’s healing for everyone. I pinned a quote I liked on pinterest – “the cure for anything is salt water, sweat, tears, and the sea.” Looking forward to seeing more shots!

    I just found a cool documentary on the ocean with a part of it on autism and bodysurfing – I’m finishing it up tonight so I should post it tomorrow. Oh, if you wouldn’t mind – my friends and I are starting up a website that will feature goods / products either made in Hawaii or with a distinct Hawaiian touch to it – would you follow us at http://www.mainlandkamaainas.com (or on Facebook – Mainland Kamaainas)? Thanks for the post – looking for the next set of pictures. 🙂

    • Thanks! I can see why you miss it. It is so beautiful there–Loooong flight, but beautiful! I took so many photos, and I will be posting them between this and the Romantic Traveler blog. We were on Oahu because of Pearl Harbor and Hawaiin Natl Cemetery (My grandfather is buried there). I just wish it’d been a little warmer–I tend to like it about 10 degrees more both air and water. Otherwise, it was perfect. I’ve heard Sept/Oct is the best time to go. I signed up for your other site already. Thanks for the link.
      Take care,

  4. Pingback: Kids on TV Again! | It's a Wunderful Life

Please share your thoughts!

