Going All Mom = Going Postal

The boys were very excited for me to post this little story, and were actually disappointed that I haven’t done it sooner.  Well, today is the day.

One day last week during spring break while we were still trying to get used to the time change, DH and I were just lying in bed not quite ready to get up when we heard the boys start their day.  They were fixing breakfast and talking to one another when the conversation shifted to grades.

Now let me stop here and add that we could hear them clearly, but they could not hear us.  I had said good morning to them quite loudly while not actually yelling, and there was no response.  So we just listened as the conversation unfolded.

So Roo says, “Well, I got straight A’s this time around,” a tiny bit of pride in his voice.

“No you didn’t,” corrects Buzzard.  “You got a B in Spanish.”

Bugs starts laughing at Buzzard’s correction, then says, “Yeah, well I’ve got all A’s too, and harder classes cause I’m older.”

“You do not!  You have a B in AP Euro!”  corrects Buzzard again.

Bugs good naturedly replies, “Oh, yeah, well, I’ll have an A by the end of the year, and College credit.”

Buzzard then says, “Well, I’ve got A’s except in Spanish.”

Roo says, “I thought you had an A?  What did you get on the mid term?”

“I got a C,” he replies, then hastily adds, “But I still have time to correct that.”

Roo says, “Yow! Does Mom know about that?”

“Not yet…” and he drags this out nice and long, as though it’s the end of his life as he knows it, which at this point I’m thinking it probably is, until I hear Roo say,

“DUDE!  SHE IS GOING TO GO ALL MOM ON YOU WHEN SHE FINDS OUT!”

I looked at DH.  “Did he just say I was, going to go all mom on him?”  DH husband starts laughing so hard he can’t speak.

“What, exactly does “going all mom” mean?”

“I think it’s their version of going postal.”  I started to laugh, and we haven’t stopped laughing.

It’s been an extremely handy little phrase ever since.  I think I’ll keep it in the mix.

This entry was posted in Aspergers, autism, Brothers, comedy, faith, Family, fathers, Mom of Special Needs Kids, Mothers of Multiples, parenting, postaday, school, Sons, Teens, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Going All Mom = Going Postal

  1. loooooool…that’s so cute!
    I remember moments like that with my siblings..actually..we still have them! looool!
    Yeah..kinda the same as going postal..loool!
    I think this just made my day 😛

  2. Dounia says:

    I loved reading this! It reminds me of moments with my brother and sister…and since my brother is still a teenager (almost 10 years younger than me) these kinds of conversations are hilarious! I’m really happy I stumbled across your blog today, I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve read so far 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  3. habibadanyal says:

    i got something of the kind from my mum aswell…..she cracked a joke and then asked me not to write a blog on it 🙂

  4. deniz says:

    ha ha ha !!! that’s wonderful! by the way, what’s AP Euro?

    • It’s Advanced Placement European History. It’s for College credit, and I brow beat him into taking it. If he passes the AP test at the end of the year, he gets college credit for it. I don’t really care if he gets the college credit, I just wanted him to be challenged, and not feeling like he could slack all year. We’ll see…

  5. Kate says:

    Oh, I’ve had a few phrases made up around me and my photography habit, my favorite one being when my son pulled on my husband’s arm and told him, “Wait Dad! Gotta pull a Mom” as he whips out his camera and takes a picture. Kids . . . gotta love ’em (especially when they don’t know we can hear everything they’re saying to each other. Then THAT’S the best)! Happy weekend! ; )

  6. Ha! Not only do you have some really smart boys, you have some creative & funny guys! I work with teenagers so I love stories like this!

    Some of our fave memories in this house are when our little girls have created their own words/expressions. 🙂

  7. Madhu says:

    That’s so cute! I am guilty of eaves dropping on the grandkids just to listen to stuff like this 🙂

    • Isn’t it funny what you hear? One time after I discovered the lid to the toilet broken on the hinges I asked all of them who did it. Of course they said, Not me! I barely got out of the room when I heard, “It was your fault!! It was your idea to jump from the counter to the top of the toilet!” It’s too funny for me to “go all Mom” for very long!

  8. Erica says:

    ha, this was perfect! Also, “going all mom” is something my mother did to me until I went to college; getting a C was her equivalent of failing, which was unacceptable. But, when I started Running Start (where I’m enrolled in high school and college and get both my diploma and Associate’s at the same time), she couldn’t monitor my grades as much.

    Your boys are hilarious — and creative! I love it!

    • Teenagers in general are hilarious, I think! Laughter is the best medicine. And the C thing? I tell them if they are working their tail off and get a C, O.K., they tried. But when there is no effort involved, the C won’t cut the mustard. 🙂 Of course they don’t agree with my logic…That amazing that you can get a high school diploma and an AA at the same time! Sounds tough, good luck!

Please share your thoughts!

