“All Roads Lead To Where We Stand”

This is the prompt for Kelli’s free write Friday Prompt, and I’m going to give it a whirl.

It may seem like roads diverge.  That which we have our eye on disappears because we are firmly on another path.  Like a boat caught in a current, we are swept along, seemingly out of control at times while other times feel like we have complete control of the rudder.  We steer and navigate thinking that for the most part, we determine the outcomes of every detail of our lives.

We couldn’t be further from the truth.  There is more at work then our paddles in the water.  Where ever we are, whatever we are doing is right where we are supposed to be, experiencing the things we are supposed to be experiencing; the good and the bad, the hopeful and the hopeless, joy and sorrow, life and death.

And like Don McClean’s song Crossroads says,

So there’s no need for turning back 

‘Cause all roads lead to where we stand. 

And I believe we’ll walk them all 

No matter what we may have planned.

This entry was posted in aging, Crossroads, Don McClean, Kelli's Free Write Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “All Roads Lead To Where We Stand”

  1. askirtaweek says:

    I am one of those who thinks if I paddle harder I will get where I want, forgetting that I am not in complete control. It can be freeing to realize it’s not all up to me all the time.

  2. Sania Lali says:

    Hello. I’v nominated your blog for the Sunshine Awards. You can check the details here:
    http://sanialali.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/the-sunshine-award/

  3. i mayfly says:

    Agreed. Sometimes the cosmic headslap takes me a while before I recognize the up side. But really, where is the advantage to treating disaster as punishment and not a forced re-direction of my wrong-deaded path? I truly prefer to believe that Someone a whole lot smarter than me is directlying the Big Show, cause if I’m in charge – we’re all in big trouble!

  4. Madhu says:

    I have to be reminded all the time, control freak that I am! Feel such relief when I eventually do 🙂

  5. Jim Cantwell says:

    Great post, Arnel.
    If we listen, we will be told which path we should follow, but the choice is ours in which foot goes first.

  6. becca givens says:

    I agree with you … may we learn our lessons well. Thank you for stopping by to read mine, and leaving a comment so I could find yours! Thank you for sharing ~~ it was an interesting exercise! Have a great week! 😀

Please share your thoughts!

