LifeRevelation

http://inkandstardust.deviantart.com/art/Bravery-288324911

Bravery is an odd thing. It has several different qualities. There is the bravery that results in one of these:

 

http://www.history.army.mil/moh.html

This is the Congressional Medal of Honor and you don’t get these by taking the easy way out. The medal comes at a cost. A cost many of us would find to high to personally pay, but not all do. Those who have been awarded this medal all have one thing in common; none of them set out to get it, it was never a goal.  To be a recipient of the Congressional Medal of Honor you need to be a member of the United States Armed Forces. Right there I am ruled out, but it gets much tougher from there.

An individual must partake in “conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity, at the risk of his or her life above and beyond the call of duty, while engaged in…

View original post 610 more words

This entry was posted in aging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to

  1. Thank you for thinking this post is worthy to share with your readers…I am humbled and grateful.

    Be encouraged!

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I clicked over and what a great post, I did enjoy the read, beautifully written.

  3. robincoyle says:

    I have a soft spot in my heart for our soldiers.

    • I absolutely do myself as well.

      • robincoyle says:

        Did I tell you my oldest daughter is going in the Army?

      • No you did not! I admire that. I’m all for it, but fear I’d be too much of a chicken to do it myself. I think it’s because of my grandfather and his 8 siblings that I have so much respect for them–my mother raised me that way since it was her dad that died in WWII. I just think they are awesome.

      • robincoyle says:

        My dad and uncle were in the Navy during WWII. They are proud of their service, and I am proud of them!

      • Were they in Europe or So. Pacific?

      • P.S., are you worried at all? What is she doing? Will she go in before or after college?

      • robincoyle says:

        Petrified. She did ROTC at UCLA and will be going in as an officer. She has a strong sense of duty to the country. It’s not like we said the Pledge of Allegiance about the dinner table or anything. But she feels the need to give back. So, as it is her calling, I have to be supportive. And admire her patriotism. Sigh.

      • I find it something I struggle with–I admire military people, but it would be difficult to see one of my children do it. At this point only my oldest is interested. Buzzard wanted to fly jets, but he’s got an eye problem that probably won’t allow him to, and Bugs has a heart valve issue, so he probably won’t qualify either. I’m sad for their dreams, but it does alleviate a little of my anxiety over it.

  4. SassySass says:

    what a great post!!!! thanks for posting this. Just wanted to let you know that I was back 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

