Floral Friday 6.15.12

“The first rule is to keep an untroubled spirit. The second is to look things in the face and know them for what they are.”
-Marcus Aurelius

Hydrangea

Catchfly foreground, Red Coleus Background

This entry was posted in Beauty, Beauty in the world, faith, Floral Fridays, flower photography, Flowers, Gardening, Inspirational, living, macro photography, Photography, Post of the Day, postaday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Floral Friday 6.15.12

  1. Janie Thurman says:

    Have never seen a speedwell flower like your. All mine are “spikey” flowers. That is really pretty.

    • Thanks terry! Did you figure out the settings for your camera, and sunsets?

      • terry1954 says:

        i can’t seem to be able to get it right for night photos or heavy shades no matter how much i play with the camera

      • What kind of camera is it?

      • terry1954 says:

        cannon power shot

      • Something else I thought of, if you are having trouble finding it in the manual, then sometimes it is easier to google, “how to change the ISO on a canon powershot (plus the model number). Ken Rockwell, has very good step by steps on how to change settings all all sorts of cameras. I use his writings frequently, and have learned more from him about my camera than the manual! 🙂 Let me know how it goes.

      • Also, what are you seeing in the results? Underexposed? Grainy? Blurry? I might be able to give you some tips if I know how they are turning out.

      • terry1954 says:

        i see a dark photo. i don’t know if my ISO is wrong, or what. no matter what camera i have used i always struggle with night time shots, so it has to be me

      • If you can set it in manual mode, then start with a shutter speed of 1/60. This is usually the lowest speed you can use for a handheld shot. Then set the aperture at somewhere below 8, (this is the f/stop number or the amount the diaphragm opens when you snap the photo). The bigger the number, the smaller the opening, and the smaller the number the bigger the opening. Leave the shutter speed at 1/60, until you find the right aperture. After taking a shot at 8, look at the display and see how it looks. If it’s still dark, change the f/stop number to a smaller number and take another shot. Go all the way down to the smallest number. At sunset Id be surprised if you still had really dark photos. If you do, then your ISO is set too low, and you should increase the number. I try to take my photos at iso200 (the lowest my camera will allow). If you are in any kind of automatic setting such as aperture priority, or shutter priority, the camera will choose the iso for you, and you cannot change it. If you are in full manual mode, however, you should be able to set the ISO. That is where I would start, and go from there. Only change one parameter at a time, or it will be difficult to figure out which thing is making a difference. Usually you can see your settings in the viewfinder down at the bottom when you take the photo, so you’ll know what your settings are. From there it’s just a matter of figuring out how to change them. Let me know if this helps. If you change the f/stop all the way down, and the ISO is no greater than 800, and you are still getting dark photos, then something is wrong. Of course if it is really dark, and the sun has gone down, then you need flash. But setting sun light should be enough for those settings–what I think of as twilight.

  2. robincoyle says:

    Wow. Beautiful way to start my day.

  3. sayvan says:

    Lovely shots again Arnel. Where do you find so many flowers?

    • Well these all came from the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens in Richmond. I Realized yesterday I didn’t have any new photos, so I drove there and took a bunch. It was quite challenging, as it was windy, and the sun kept playing peekaboo with the clouds. Was constantly changing settings. Mostly I just keep my camera with me, and pull over whenever I see a flower 🙂

  4. lauriejlong says:

    You have, yet again, inspired me! Gorgeous!

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    These are beautiful flowers, I love the colours, great photos. 🙂

  6. Beautiful garden you have and you are such a busy mom. Loved this photos today thank you for sharing.

    • Well, this is actually the Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden. I wish it were mine. I’m not so good with plants, however I have a renewed interest in making them grow, so I’ve doubled my efforts. :-). Thanks for stopping by!

  7. tutankhamon661 says:

    Well Done!

Please share your thoughts!