Potholes

I started to say, I hit a bump in the road, but I think it was more of a pothole.  A huge pothole.  A hormonal pothole.  A, feeling-like-I-have-no-control pothole.  In fact, I’m not even sure it could qualify as a pothole.  What is bigger than a pothole?  A meteor hole? Whatever it is, I’m not alone.  Satan is lurking in the corner.

I have been desperately trying to find my stash of humor where there is none.  Maybe Satan is hiding it.  Sigh…  Is this where I tell him to get off?  I think so.  God is there.  God is mighty.  God is strong.  It’s just that sometimes I feel like He’s looking the other direction.  And I’m in my pothole/meteor hole, jumping up and down waving my arms and saying, HELLO??????  I’m here!  Of course He knows I’m there.  He nudges me, and says, “Read about Daniel and the Lions Den…”

Ahhh…Is that the answer?  Quiet contemplation and prayer.  That’s what my friend texted me when I thought I had reached the end of my rope.  I think that when I am feeling like this, when all seems hopeless, it’s the lesson of trusting God to close the lions’ mouths.  To use His word as though it were an umbrella, so that everything that falls does so around me and not on me.  And if I get a little wet, then it was definitely for some greater good whether I see it or not.

This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational, Jesus, Post of the Day, postaday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Potholes

  1. Gretchen says:

    I will have to say that THIS is one of my favorites of your postings. Thanks!

  2. You have a very busy household and I’m remembering what it was like. Sometimes nerves get frayed and maybe that’s where you’re at now. Or maybe it’s more. Whatever is causing you to feel out of control and ‘down’ I hope comes to a conclusion or at least lets up for you…Diane

  3. It’s the Shift! I’ve been feeling it too…

  4. terry1954 says:

    reading what you wrote gives me strength to continue on from yesterday

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Unfortunately we all have days like that every now and then, but thankfully it will pass, and you again will find your humour. 🙂

  6. Madhu says:

    We can’t always avoid those pits Arnel. Hope your troubles have blown over and your humour returns soon 🙂

  7. Roly says:

    This too shall pass 🙂

  8. Elisa says:

    I hope you have found a smoother road today!

  9. robincoyle says:

    Are you feeling better today?

  10. cindyhfrench says:

    I think I am the oldest one here-61-and had to go thru menopause twice! once when I was 22 and I had an emergency hysterectomy and came home crazy! I bought marshmallows to throw instead of dishes-finally I called my doc and he said oh you need some hormones! that was 1974–long before there was any issue about taking hormones. In this day and time I take the very lowest dosage I can take and get any benefit from. But what I wanted to really tell you was what the Lord has done for me. The most important part of keeping myself straight in the day regardless of what happens is being in the Word and Praying-there are lot’s of kinds of prayer. I am sure I must use all of them everyday. There is the worship prayer-where all I do is worship. but I also worship and praise Him before I petition Him–which is the 2nd prayer. Then there is the running conversation prayer that when you have a relationship with Someone, you have about whatever is going on in your life right then. He is by my side working with me as a Recruiter. He is next to me in the car and keeping me safe. Or to discuss anything of great importance or not. Truly HE is what keeps me sane! and isn’t this what being in a relationship is all about?

    • Hi Cindy! Thanks for the comment. You are right. There are many kinds of prayer–sometimes when I’m trapped in thought that is clearly Satan trying to derail me my prayers become chants of “I’m not listening, go away!” Sounds silly I know, but it’s how I feel. Other times are praise, as you said, and still others running dialogue. I’m not a candidate for any hormone therapy in any form because of a history of Pulmonary Embolism. Such a bummer. Running is a really good way to combat that, but I find the mileage has to be pretty high (like 40/week) for it to be the most effective. (probably because then I’m too exhausted to throw anything at anybody 🙂 ). But it’s what I have to work with, so I run to fight the crazy feeling. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

      • cindyhfrench says:

        you are so welcome! I know where you are coming from. if I had young children, I probably would not opt for the lowest dose of premarin and zoloft combo because it still carries a risk, but at my age QUALITY is much more important than QUANTITY. I know a lot of people struggle to live regardless, but that won’t be me. I am looking forward to heaven and my new body. If you stop by my blog and read anything of my life, You would know that I still deal with some pretty heavy duty things-and everything from the top of my head to the bottom of my feet has been replaced, repaired or taken out.. that would be a bummer except for ll cor 1:4 because I have always met someone who has had just what I have had, and I can say to them, I understand exactly how you feel. there is NOTHING like that! it bonds you together-and then it always allowed me to introduce Jesus to whoever it was that I was talking to-or if they knew Him, to build them up. Because when we are down, we are really down and no witness at all. the one thing my Lord has told me is to never hide my light under a bushel-to always shine it high. and I do. I try to be sure that in everything I do I am a sweet fragrance to Him. He’s called us to Holiness-but I haven’t even gotten to first base there. I am just thankful that I have had the opportunity to learn of Him from Him just the last few years after a stroke I had-I couldn’t talk-so it was just He and I. My poor husband had to get by with whispers for 18 months-until after anointing and prayer, the Lord gave me my voice back.-oh not exactly my voice but similar, it is much lower pitched and huskier than my high soprano voice and I can’t sing anymore either..but some day I will sing with the best of them!
        Blessings!

      • Cindy, your blog address isn’t showing up, so I don’t know what it is. Blessings to you as well.

      • cindyhfrench says:

        sorry. it is http://cindyhfrench.com

        however I know that you can google CindyHFrench and it brings up the blog which is called
        Stranger than Fiction –life stories by the way because my life has been exactly that! I can’t even believe it when I go back and read my stuff. it’s like how in the world did I survive that? God!! He is everything! I wish that He had been everything to me when I was your age. I hope He is to you.
        I know that everything changed for me by getting into a Bible Study. I go to BSF every year. that stands for Bible Study Fellowship in every major city all over the world. just bring it up on your screen and then type in your zip code and it will tell lyou where the nearest class is held.
        They are during the school year on Mon night and Thurs mornings. Nights the Guys have their won study-but we are all studying the same material all over the world. This year we will do Genesis. My daughter has done that one and loved it-got me involved what will be 7 yrs ago this year. I highly recommend it. We study one book and what you get out of it is incredible!

      • Thanks for the info. I did check it out, for me it would be an hour away. I’ll keep it in mind. As the kids get older it would be easier to do. I will check out your blog as well!

        Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Blech, I hate days like that. There’s nothing worse than thinking you’re not funny and then having other people REALLY think you’re not funny. Hence my semi-depressing posts lately… 😉 The best is when I post something and my mom goes “Um, I really didn’t like that post at all.” Oh well. I just keep in mind that the purpose of my blog is just to make myself laugh and keep me occupied. It’s not for me to be famous or get my name out there (especially since I don’t even give my real name…), it’s for me. If other people totally hate it, that’s their problem, and if they think it’s awesome, then it’s an added bonus. But for the record, I always love your blog, humorless or not 😀

    • Moms can be like that, can’t they? I always wondered about your name! Very, very creative–I’m impressed. I have the worst time coming up with titles and names. It’s true. You have to write for yourself and no one else, because it just doesn’t work that way. I have found that it gives me great comfort to know there is a world of cyberfriends out there who “get” that part of writing. The bonus is, being able to help someone through a rough spot by what you write, or pics you post–or that great recipe you post that will save you for dinner! Definitely keep writing! I love your humor and your recipes!

Please share your thoughts!

