Beware the Jalapeño on Date Night…

My oldest son loves to hunt and fish.  He is a true outdoorsman.  Consequently, we have more venison in our freezer than I know what to do with.

It’s a shame too, that only two of the boys like it.  Hubs came home and shared a story about a client telling him a story about his Brother-In-Law or some such, and the nasty parasites that almost ended his life from poorly cooked venison.

That did it for him, and me as well, although I do think that was a rare occurrence.  Tons of people eat venison and love it!  It’s popular in restaurants throughout Scotland.  Too gamey for me, however.  So what’s a girl to do with all this venison?  Well, the ground venison I was given a fantastic chili recipe for (no, really–it barely tastes like venison–and it’s cooked for a REALLY long time, ensuring all critters are dead).  So about a week ago I bought all the stuff to make it and four nights ago I made a huge double batch.

About 10 minutes into the chili preparation Hubs came into the kitchen to see about my progress and said, “Is there anything I can do?”

Not one to turn down help, I pulled out the Jalapeños and said, “Yes, you can chop these.”

Courtesy of Wikipedia

“O.K.,” he says tentatively.  “But can you show me exactly how you want them?”

So I take one chili, cut the bottom and top off and quarter it lengthwise.  I then say, “I strip off all the inside membrane and rinse out the seeds so there isn’t as much heat.  I then dice them into tiny minced pieces.”  Let me just say I’ve made this chili many times, and cut up tons of Jalapeños, never with gloves on.

He says, “Got it,” and sets about to cut and clean the remaining 7 chilis. In the meantime, I’m dicing garlic and onions, and the kitchen begins to smell really good.

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Courtesy of Wikipedia

When I finish cleaning the garlic into a stack of cloves, I decide to get out my little hand held mini chopper and suggested he use it to finish up with the chilis.  When I finish with my garlic, I hand it to him and he chops up the chilis.  We finish with all the ingredients, and let it simmer while we cleaned up.

Fast forward thirty minutes later, and I’m sitting in front of the t.v., with my chin propped on my hand, and my index finger crossing my lips when I notice my lip begins to burn.  Also, my fingers start to feel like they are on fire.  I look over at hubs and say, “Are your fingers burning?”

He says, “I had to go shower, and yes, they are still burning.”

The next day (which was Thursday), my fingers are even worse.  When I ran water on them, it felt like tiny little flames were leaping from my fingertips.  I began to think I’d contracted some weird disease.  When hubs came home from work, I asked him again about his fingers and he confirms his are still burning as well.

Thursday evening we left to go out of town.  Once in the hotel room, we relaxed into no kid mode.  This involved a certain amount of hanky-panky which came to a screeching halt when we realized the affected digits could still transfer the oils from the Jalapeños to, er, well anything we touched.

The moral of the story?  When handling chili’s, please use gloves.  If you’re wondering how to get it off (the oils from the chili’s that is), apparently alcohol works best–no, not drinking it, (although that couldn’t hurt) soaking in it.  Really.

Courtesy of Wikipedia

The following is the chili recipe, I’ve included since it really is a good chili recipe and if you don’t like venison, beef would work.

Vennison Chili

2 Tbsp vegetable oil

2.5 pounds ground venison (or other ground meat)

1-3/4 cups chopped onions

1/2 head of garlic

1 28 oz can chopped tomatoes

1 8 oz can tomato sauce

1 4 oz can chopped green chilis

4 jalapeño peppers seeded and chopped

2 Tbsp chili powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp worcestershire sauce

2 15.5 oz cans red kidney beans undrained

1-1/4 cup chopped green bell peppers

In six quart Dutch oven heat 2 Tbsp oil over medium heat.  Add ground meat, onions and garlic.  Cook 10-15 minutes or until mean is no longer pink and vegetables are tender, stirring frequently.

Add remaining chili ingredients  except beans and green peppers.  Mix well and bring to boil.  Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 1 hour.  Stir occasionally.

Add beans and green peppers.  Re-cover and simmer for an additional 15-20 minutes or until green pepper are tender, stirring occasionally.

Note:  I freeze in seal-a-meal bags in 4 cup amounts.

This entry was posted in capsaicin, Chili, chili oils, cooking, garlic, Jalapeño, onions, Post of the Day, postaday, venison, venison chili and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Beware the Jalapeño on Date Night…

  1. robincoyle says:

    That is an unusual way to cool things off. Add jalapeno!

  2. Janie Thurman says:

    Why not just but the canned, diced jalenpenos? Seems much easier not to mention safer.

  3. Madhu says:

    More convincing than a headache for sure 😀 I love green chilies in everything! Should remember to keep a glass of wine handy!

  4. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I have never had venison. I have never seen it to even give it a try, a few friends have tried it and thought it was O.K. I believe some restaurants have it in some places here in Oz, but I’ve never seen it where I live. 🙂

    • Hi mags! In Scotland it was more common than not to see it on a menu. It’s very gamey. I did find a brine for the loins, but after research I’m told the best way to del with fresh venison is to either let it age for two weeks where it develops a black rind on the flesh, and then you trim that off and process it, or you process it (cut it into pieces) in the field and immediately submerge them in a salt water ice bath. Since bugs is not versed on processing (he field dresses and we have a butcher process it) and they don’t age the meat, we are sorta out of luck on both counts. The next best think I could think of was a highly seasoned salty brine for 24 hours. That actually produced really good results. But as one guy said, if you are expecting it to taste like beef you’d best not even try, cause it isn’t ever going to taste like beef no matter what you do. :-). I have a cousin who lives in north Dakota, and she doesn’t like venison either. She assures me elk is much better. I’ll have to take her word for it, I’ve never had it. The general consensus is, the animals that eat grass, taste good. Deer eat a lot of acorns.

  5. thomas peck says:

    After reading your post I’m staying clear of venison, and jalapeños…,! Stick to booze though, especially for medicinal purposes……

  6. Ow! That brings back some stinging chilli memories I’ve had of chopping them up. You’re right, it’s a good idea to wear gloves, although it makes me wonder, if it does that to your fingers what’s it doing to your insides? Venison is still popular in Scotland, but usually only in upmarket restaurants (although you can sometimes buy venison burgers at fairs, there’s at least one company that does a roaring trade in them). I know someone in Edinburgh who has venison for Christmas dinner.

    • Hi Lorna! I need to pop over to your sight. I’m missing your posts on the reader somehow! Hope you’ve been good! I didn’t realize that about the restaurants. It seemed like most of the ones we ate in had some sort of venison, even if it was just a burger. My friend on the last night decided to give it a try. She didn’t care for it much, but the look on her face gave me the giggles. It’s weird though, as many times as I’ve made that chili, that’s the first time that’s happened to me!

  7. hmmm, yes, chillis come back to haunt one in varied, painful ways! We grown them for producing sauces, pickles and others. Hubby does all the work, and it is always very yummy. But he does suffer indignities and grief :-). I stay away!

  8. Lynne Ayers says:

    If you’re wondering how to get it off …LOL. Another great post, Arnel.

    • Ha ha. I wondered if anyone picked up on that. It’s funny, sometimes when you write something you mean it one way, and then when you go back and read it you think, Oh dear, that doesn’t sound like what I meant! Thanks for stopping by Lynne!

  9. Roly says:

    Gives new meaning to hot pants 🙂

  10. I love it! I hope “date night” wasn’t completely ruined by the dreaded Jalapeno, lol.

  11. deniz says:

    I didn’t know that – about the alcohol, I mean. That chili sounds yummy! I’ve missed reading your posts this past week 🙂

    • I’ve slacked a bit. Especially on reading. I’ve really wanted to put some major time in to my WIP, and I’m excited because the last couple of days I realized how it needed to go. I never really felt like I fleshed out the plot, and now I think I have. Yay!

Please share your thoughts!

