Floral Friday 7.6.12

“What seems to us as bitter trials are often blessings in disguise.” – Oscar Wilde

Field of Fleabane

Hosta

Lanceleaf Coreopsis

Jacaranda Blooms

Orange Groves of California

Lanceleaf Coreopsis

Mums

This entry was posted in Floral Fridays, flower photography, Flowers, Inspirational, macro photography, Photography, Post of the Day, postaday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Floral Friday 7.6.12

  1. Janie Thurman says:

    As always loved the photos, especially the B&W coreopsis. Great work!!

  2. I love your Friday posts..

  3. robincoyle says:

    Doing any better honey?

  4. Y’know, I am constantly gobsmacked by your photography.
    And your writing makes me jealous, occasionally.
    What better blog to read than one that arouses these emotions?

    • Awe…Thank you! You have rendered me speechless! Thank you for the kind words. I sometimes look back and my stuff and think, Ewww! Did I really say that? 🙂 I guess we all think that about our own stuff. I’ve been so preoccupied the last couple of weeks I haven’t done much reading. I’m going to pop over to your site and catch up. I’m delinquent on many things. I think what I write and what I photograph is connected to my emotions–it’s a good way to find some solace. And besides that, I rented the new Canon Mark III, and I fell in LOVE with it! Now I just gotta figure out how to pay for one. 🙂

  5. Madhu says:

    Lovely! I love Coreopsis. The flowers in the last one seem like Asters

    • I like coreopsis as well. Well, now you know, I’ve always thought mums bloomed in the fall, but I have these two pots on my deck with these flowers that look like mums. But I couldn’t figure out why they’d be blooming now…I wonder if they are asters, but they don’t really look like the asters I see around here, they really look like mums. Maybe I can find someone who can look at them and tell me. The trouble with not knowing anything about plants. It took me forever to look up the names of some of those. 🙂

  6. Dounia says:

    Gorgeous photos, as always! My favorites are the first and last shots, even if I like them all! 🙂 Thanks for this wonderful Friday series, and have a great weekend!

  7. Smaktakula says:

    First of all–lovely photographs. Secondly, I loved the Wilde quote. I wasn’t previously familiar with it, and most of the quotes I’ve seen from the man have been very witty, but are usually scathing. This was positive and true. One of the most resilient qualities of human beings is our ability to shape our own perceptions, and to consciously fit events in our lives within a framework. How we interpret the events in our life is entirely of our own choosing. Is the glass half-empty or is it half-full? Or, might there even be another (or myriad others) way to look at the glass?

    • Thanks Smaktakula. I haven’t read a whole lot of Wilde myself, but I saw this and loved it. And it was particularly useful for how I’ve been feeling. I hate being negative and frumpy, but I have my days just like everyone. The positive quotes and beauty of nature help. And you are right. There is always more than one way to skin a cat…

Please share your thoughts!

