Moving on…

I want to thank everyone who has ever nominated me for an award.  I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it, and how it tickles me inside and makes my day!  I wouldn’t have anything without my readers, and it is so sweet to know that they feel they want to pass these awards on to me.

That said, I want to say that from now on, I am going to politely decline any awards.  I know that many do decline the awards, and it goes against my better judgement, because I like passing them out as though they were candy.  Thing is, they are very time-consuming.  I hope I’m not offending anyone by saying that, but if you’ve been on here very long at all, there comes a point where you begin to look the other direction, much like when the teacher is looking for someone to call on, and you don’t want to be THE ONE!

I am slightly overwhelmed here lately, and have been incredibly STRESSED OUT.  I put my head down the other day for just a moment, and then I couldn’t find it again.  I’m not sure what I did with it, but I know it’s around here somewhere.  So this is an attempt to rein in whatever stresses may be out there that I can do without.  I’m beginning to think this might resemble rambling, but it’s 12:39 AM, and I’m not usually up this late.  I’ve got so many irons in the fire that I’ve lost count, and as you can clearly see I’m beginning to sound like someone without a logical train of thought.

So, my main focus is to return to writing in all its various forms, and sift through the mountains of paperwork (I’d show you a picture of my desk, but you’d probably think it was an overdone mock-up–which I assure you it wouldn’t be) and get a little more organized so that I might find my head again–and my dining room table.  It’s probably on my desk under all the papers–my head, that is.

Now if I could just get my boys to sign up for slave labor, I’d be closer to a Zen state…

This entry was posted in aging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Moving on…

  1. jmgoyder says:

    This is such a weird coincidence! I was just about to write a post about exactly the same thing – the award nominations can be overwhelming and time-consuming and I have never accepted any (that’s why I created the Hot Potato award). It’s as if you read my mind!

  2. Roly says:

    Awards are a way of recognizing and encouraging new bloggers but I also find all the rules time consuming. I prefer to give an award that has no other requirements than to accept it. No mess no fuss.

  3. Marianne says:

    I think a lot of bloggers feel exactly the same as you do, and I also think you are very courageous to say “no thank you”. So many people continue doing things they don’t really want to do, and this creates a lot of unnecessary stress.

  4. Pat Bailey says:

    Good for you, Arnel. I really like your blog and want to see lots more photos and good writing so I’m glad you are doing what you need to do to take care of yourself. I remember how overwhelming it can get when you have kids and work and house and friends and all kinds of commitments.

  5. Oh, how I can relate to your blog today, and I totally understand your decision about the awards because although very flattering, I also cringe when I see an email advising me of an award because I just don’t know how I’m going to find the time to do all the requirements! Between crazy busy days at work, one son going to college who we have to move this weekend, and the other son starting back to high school next week and being in baseball playoffs, I’m pretty sure I will need hair dye before the next couple of weeks are over. I have not missed a day of blogging in over 300 days, but I am starting to realize that although one of the most rewarding things I have ever done, it is starting to consume my life, and I don’t have time for the other things I need to do or like to do. So, I am actually considering cutting down to a couple of posts a week after my one year mark. I know that all of your blogging friends will totally understand your decision, so take a deep breath and relax!!! 🙂

  6. Barneysday says:

    It’s easy to get behind and feeling overwhelmed, particularly with all the happenings in raising a family. Getting back to basics is always helpful. Good luck

  7. terry1954 says:

    i hate days like that where all is chaos, and i feel like i am being bombarded with life’s issues. i like days where peace is the topic and not too much goes wrong. hope you feel better soon. you are such a nice person, take great photos, see the beauty of our green earth. don’t let anything on earth drag u down…………or try not too.

  8. cocoaupnorth says:

    I can relate regarding the awards. They are so lovely to get and I really appreciate the thought but they do take time. I know I looked the other direction the previous time you nominated me, hope you were not offended:-). But I’m doing this one because it’s short…*hugs*

  9. I completely understand as I made a decision to thank the person who thought of me so kindly but I also was finding it so difficult to find time to do everything to do with blogging …write, read and the awards ..and still have time off the computer…I think it’s wonderful as long as people can do it and during the time I did there were a lot of people that I was able to pass them on to. There may be a time I decide to again but not right now…Diane

  10. I was thinking the same thing Arnel..and you’ve worded it perfectly!
    Duly noted, and beautiful photography as usual =)

  11. Madhu says:

    I am kind of in the same boat! That is the reason i missed this in the first place 🙂 Congratulations Arnel! And I appreciate the nomination.

Please share your thoughts!

