Weekly Photo Challenge: Today

Today, I promised my oldest I would go fishing with him.  It was supposed to be sunny.  It rained.  It rained hard.  I was going to do some photography because, 1.  I don’t fly fish and 2. Even if I did there wasn’t enough room for two of us to fly fish.  So, we drove to a place the nice kid at Orvis told him about (I would like to say this was MILES from any living human being, although creatures were aplenty, except for fish.)  The results were these photos and a very soaking wet mother who kept saying, “I’m not happy!”

Not a great frog photo, but he kept hopping.

The fisherman

Bugs almost stepped on this guy…

Of Course one flower photo…

Although you can’t see it, this is a water strider

The sun finally comes out…after we are done, of course.

A deer who just didn’t care that we were there.

This entry was posted in aging, fly fishing, Inspirational, Photo Challege, Photography, Post of the Day, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Today

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    What a shame the weather was not good, but you did get some very nice photos. 🙂

  2. robincoyle says:

    I love to go fishing with my husband. He fishes, I read.

    • That was sorta my plan. I took a book, but in the rain never got it out. I took some photos, but my camera was getting pretty wet. Borrowed my sons hat to put over the top of it, worked, O.K. Really need one of those covers for it.

  3. Colline says:

    You got some very good photos from the trip though.

  4. deniz says:

    Looks like a great day! Love the animal photos.

  5. While you may not have been happy during the fishing trip, you got some great shots. Enjoy nature!

  6. Those are great! I love the little frog and lizard.

  7. Lovely selection of shots!

  8. sayvan says:

    What a great capture of the deer…. so very lucky…. somehow I think mom was only joking about not being ‘happy’.

    • It was said half joking. I think it was hard to relax because I was worried about the camera getting wet. Really need to invest in waterproof cover.

      • sayvan says:

        I know that feeling… if I am some where with the camera and it starts to rain my only concern suddenly becomes the camera and that always makes the journey less enjoyable. I now use a large zip lock bag with a hole for the lens, works perfectly and very cost effective!

      • I’ve tried the ziplock bag thingy and could never make it work well. It slips and slides, and is generally annoying to me. I’m going to cough up the 50 bucks for the cover.

  9. Well your pictures were lovely…nature of all kinds….Diane

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Wind Against Current

  11. Some of my best memories involve watching someone I love fish while I wait and wander! Love the pics.

    • Thanks! How are you doing, by the way? I hope all is O.K., although I’m sure not great. I do love to watch him fly fish. And I usually don’t mind rain. I think it was the camera getting wet that was freaking me out. That and I need waders! We were up past sugar hollow. Very solitary.

      • I thought it looked familiar. I love sugar hollow. My boys were there recently swimming at the Blue Hole. Great memories for them. Fly fishing is an art. Have him visit this website. A writer friend of mine has it and is a fly fishing expert (has written a couple books on the subject and does magazine articles too). He runs a fly fishing fat camp in Washington State on the Upper Columbia River. His name is Steven Bird. http://columbiatrout.blogspot.com/

        I’m actually in Chesapeake this week getting stuff done for the estate. So much to do with the house, things, repairs, etc. Court date tomorrow, then off to the banks, insurance companies, etc. The whole thing will hit me when I least expect it and when things slow down a little. I think all the busy work is God’s way of letting you experience the loss a little at a time. Thank you for thinking of me.

      • I will look at the sight, and Bugs will like it too! Hope the weather in Chesapeake is a little better than here, pretty dreary and a high of 66 today. I think you are right. But lately I’ve found myself just wishing everything would settle so I could put it behind me. I’ve sorta had enough. Hugs to you. Take your time. Let me know if you need anything. 🙂

      • Finally had a look at this link! It’s great, and I gave it to my son–he will love it. Thank you so much for thinking of him. How goes it with you?

  12. TBM says:

    I’m not big on fishing, but the better half is. I would be with you, taking photos and taking in the scenery. Nice photos. Too bad about the weather and I’m glad your camera survived 🙂

  13. Saint Stay At Home says:

    Shnikies your life is magical!

    • Oh, if only it were true…Just last night there was a huge fight regarding iPhones. I was on the phone with the lady about my dad’s car loan and she could hear them. I said, “I wanna run away. It’s only the first day of summer!” She laughed, I didn’t.

      • Saint Stay At Home says:

        Well… your photos certainly reflect happiness!

        Per above comments you need:
        – waterproof camera
        – ear plugs for arguments
        🙂

      • Already getting a camera cover. The earplugs are good, but I can’t talk on the phone with them…

  14. Elisa says:

    I translate “I’m not happy,” to I’d do anything for my kid even though these are not ideal conditions. You are a good sport, a great mom and a wonderful memory creator!

    Elisa

  15. 4rozebds says:

    Not only are you a great mom, but you took some really great shots too! Your kids are lucky to have you!

  16. Madhu says:

    I empathise 😉 But the fact that the shots turned out great should be a consolation!

  17. adinparadise says:

    Great photos, despite the rain. How dare it rain on your parade? 😉

  18. Stunning photos! Women are supposedly far better than men at fly fishing, especially if you tie a fly with elastic from your pantie-leg. It’s the pheromones apparently 🙂

Please share your thoughts!